Ford has outlined two ways its forthcoming Fathom electric pickup could supply a home: shifting electricity use away from expensive hours and providing backup during an outage. The equipment and approval requirements differ, and a vehicle purchase alone does not complete either setup.
The October 27 announcement describes available bidirectional AC power and projected output above 10 kilowatts. Ford plans vehicle availability in 2027. Homeowners comparing it with a generator or stationary battery still need equipment prices, an installation assessment and local utility requirements.
Two uses, different equipment
Batteries store direct-current electricity, while household equipment uses alternating current. Ford's technical explanation says the Fathom places the inverter in the vehicle's E-box, eliminating a separate wall-mounted inverter from the proposed setup.
That changes the hardware arrangement compared with the earlier F-150 Lightning system. Ars Technica's Jonathan M. Gitlin reports that owners will still need Ford's new home equipment despite the onboard conversion.
| Requirement | Home Power Management | Home Backup Power |
|---|---|---|
| Purpose | Charge at cheaper times and power the home at costlier times | Supply the home during an outage |
| Home equipment | Ford Home Power Station | Ford Home Power Station plus Home Backup Power Panel |
| Utility requirement stated by Ford | Approval required | Notice or approval may be required |
| Ford plan requirement stated in the announcement | Active trial or plan | The backup footnote does not specify a plan requirement |
The two footnotes are different. Ford expressly attaches an active trial or plan to power management. The absence of that wording in the backup footnote does not establish that every backup service will be subscription-free; Ford has not provided complete service terms in this announcement.
The truck price is separate from the home project
Ford expects the Home Power Station to cost about half as much as its first-generation bidirectional charger. It expects the backup equipment to cost at least 60% less than its first-generation home backup hardware. Those comparisons describe projected hardware reductions, not a quote for a completed installation.
The Fathom product FAQ lists a $28,350 starting MSRP and a separate $1,595 destination and delivery charge. Adding those figures gives $29,945 before dealer documentation fees, taxes, home equipment or installation. Dealers set the selling price. Ford says preorders begin early in 2027.
For the home budget, the Department of Energy's charging guidance says an electrician can assess available electrical capacity. Some homes need additional circuits, and installations must meet local and state rules, with permits where required. A lower equipment price therefore does not establish the same total saving for every property.
More than 10 kW does not specify backup duration
A power rating describes how much electricity can be supplied at one time. Battery energy and household consumption determine how long a supply can last. The Energy Information Administration distinguishes kilowatts, a measure of power, from kilowatt-hours, a measure of energy over time.
Ford's projected output above 10 kW does not establish how many days a household could operate, or which appliances could run together. A runtime comparison requires usable battery energy and the loads that the installation will serve.
For everyday savings, a separate question is how the household's rate changes by time of day. Pacific Northwest National Laboratory's residential charging guide describes charging during cheaper periods and supplying a building during more expensive periods. It also identifies additional equipment, infrastructure and software costs associated with bidirectional use. Ford has not supplied a universal monthly saving or payback period.
Utility programs have their own entry rules
Ford says a working group formed in July with five utilities is addressing interconnection procedures. That work predates this week's equipment announcement and does not confer approval on an individual home.
PG&E's Vehicle-to-Everything program shows why the operating mode matters. Its rules distinguish systems that discharge while the grid operates from systems limited to outage backup. The former need Rule 21 interconnection; backup-only installations follow a separate pathway.
PG&E also requires customers to select a compatible vehicle-and-charger combination from its eligible products list. Its current enrollment deadline is June 30, 2027. A Ford announcement or utility partnership should not be treated as confirmation that a future Fathom installation qualifies for that program. Check the listed combination and the utility's installation requirements before budgeting an incentive.


